Supporting United States Ratification of the U.N. Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities – Why Every Voice Counts!

Author Emily Ladau writes about why she is actively involved with the effort for US ratification of the disabilities treaty and why she hopes others will become active, too. She links to many good resources on the disability treaty (CRPD) for people to explore. Some additional resources to check out include the ones linked on this page: http://www.usicd.org/index.cfm/tools-and-resources

Words I Wheel By

Young caucasian woman with curly brown hair off to the side wearing purple glasses and a turquoise floral-patterned shirt. She is holding up a sign written in pink and green ink on white paper that reads: "Calling all senators: It's time for the U.S. to take their seat at the table in support of global disability rights! Please be the example I know we can be! Ratify the CRPD!"This post can also be seen on another great disability resource website, Ollibean: https://ollibean.com/2013/11/22/ratify-crpd/

I have a confession to make:

I can only vaguely recall skimming the e-mails that made their way to my inbox in late November and early December last year that called upon the disability community to contact their senators in support of U.S. ratification of the U.N. Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD). It’s not that I didn’t realize the importance; I just thought to myself “Oh, I should help. But what does it matter if I don’t contact senators? I’m just one person and I doubt my voice will make a huge difference.” However, after living and breathing pro-CRPD activism every day for the entire duration of my summer internship, I’m deeply disappointed in myself for having previously believed that my advocacy efforts wouldn’t be heard.

I find that the “I’m just…

View original post 670 more words

Leave a Comment

