Call for Volunteers for Disability Human Rights Campaign

Dear Prospective Volunteers and Human Disability Rights Advocates:

Did you know that the United States has been missing out on an important opportunity to support human rights for one billion people with disabilities around the world?

The first international human rights treaty to address people with disabilities is trapped in the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee.  This “Disability Treaty”, called the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), has been ratified by 141 other countries.  But the United States hasn’t joined them.  And we cannot join them until the Foreign Relations Committee takes action on the Disability Treaty.

We need volunteers like YOU to be involved in the national movement for U.S. ratification of the CRPD.  You can learn more about the treaty at http://bit.ly/CRPD1Pager.

 How can I help?

The easiest way to start is by visiting http://disabilitytreaty.org.  Learn more about what the “Disability Treaty” is and why it matters.  Use the action center to guide you through your first phone calls or emails to key Senators.  Ask them to re-start the negotiation process on the CRPD and move the treaty toward ratification.

We are seeking YOUR STORY to put a FACE to CRPD ratification efforts.  Have you tried to travel abroad for study, work, or recreation and had disability-related challenges?  Please contact Rhonda Neuhaus at rneuhaus@dredf.org or share at http://disabilitytreaty.org.

If you’re ready to do more, you can reach out to Andrea Shettle at ashettle@usicd.org.  She can send you a packet with more information on how to get started, including dial-in and CART instructions for how you can join the next national teleconference call for students and other campus leaders.  These regular calls include updates on the national movement for CRPD ratification and enable participants to exchange ideas for taking action.

Save these dates on your calendar for upcoming national calls:

  • Wednesday, February 26, 2014, at 4 pm EST (3pm Central time, 1 pm Pacific time)
  • Tuesday, March 25, 2014, at 4 pm EST (3pm Central time, 1pm Pacific time)
  • Wednesday, April 23, 2014, at 4 pm EST (3pm Central time, 1pm Pacific time)
Advertisements

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s