#WeNeedDiverseBooks. We always did and we always will.

Yes to all this, EXCEPT, please don’t forget that people with disabilities desperately need to see themselves represented in fiction too. (A blog post I did a while ago on this topic is here: ramblingjustice.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/1st-met-me/ )

The Magpie Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Modern Life and Etiquette

alice When I was a just a tiny little kiddo, either my mom or my grandmother introduced me to Alice for the Very Young, which is sort of a Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland with training wheels. Just one look at the cover and I was hooked for life. Alice was young and pale and blonde, just like me. I wanted to be just like her and, in some ways, I already felt like I was her. Alice remains my literary buddy to this day. In tough times, she is my rock and my safe space. I go to her when I am not OK. Decades after picking this book up for the first time, she’s still there when I feel lost or out-of-place or just plain sad.

This is my somewhat convoluted way of saying that it didn’t take much to get me hooked on reading. All I needed was a drawing of a girl…

View original post 584 more words

One thought on “#WeNeedDiverseBooks. We always did and we always will.

Leave a Comment

