About the Author’s Illness Part 1: Fatigue

The Professional Patient

This post is hard to write. It’s more personal than the other posts I’ve put up. However, I think it’s important to share the backstory of what I’m up against, especially because it’s an invisible illness. It’s easy for people to misunderstand what I and others like me are up against, and so I’m sharing my story to shed a little light on our struggles.

The past year and a half of my life has been, quite simply, hellish. One day I was living alone and able to take care of myself and my pup, while advancing rapidly on a demanding and active career path, maintaining a full social life and set of hobbies, and practicing yoga frequently. The next day (May 24th 2012 – it’s hard to forget), I made it through a shortened workday with an intense neck and headache, I canceled my night plans, let my…

View original post 1,033 more words

Leave a Comment

