More on Behaviorism

Autistic Academic

(“More?” I hear you ask.  “Did I miss the first part?”  Nah, it’s here.)

If I had a nickel for every person who has thanked me and Emma for having the conversation yesterday that is at the link above (also this link here), I would have…many nickels.  Don’t know what I would do with them, but I’d have them.

Some things I would like to add:

Behavioral Training, Physical Damage

I gave myself hypoglycemia (still have it!) because I so often deprived myself of food for being “forgetful” or “clumsy” or “doing retard shit in public” (“retard shit,” as I so charitably called myself, included the kinds of benign behaviors many ABA programs seek to extinguish, like flapping, spinning, rocking, and giggling).

Unbeknownst to me at the time I was depriving myself of food, Lovaas recommended using a child’s meals (or the withholding of them) as reward/punishment…

View original post 429 more words

Leave a Comment

