Leaving NCD: Accomplishments and Disappointments from Five Years of Public Service

Sometimes a Lion

Today is my last day as a Member of the National Council on Disability. In previous years, Council Members were never quite sure of when their final departure would be, as they served until replaced by the President. Since the passage of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act cut the Council down from fifteen members to nine, I have a more definite departure date than some of my previous colleagues.

While I would have been glad for the extra time, I also appreciate the opportunity to reflect on my last five years of public service. One of the frustrating aspects of government work is the need to constantly be moving from one crisis to the next. Because of that, opportunities for introspection are fewer than I would like.

I owe a profound debt of gratitude to President Obama and his team for inviting me to serve on NCD, and an equally…

View original post 827 more words

Leave a Comment

