Fake Signing and the Mocking of Deaf People

Deaf Life for a Hearing Mind

During one of my classes in college we were asked to get into small groups and create a short skit describing a particular scene from the travel industry that we were given. Because of my hearing loss it was really easy for me to incorporate sign language into our skit. We had a week to plan out the skit, practice it and then present it in front of the class. During that week every day I sat down with my group members and taught them basic signs that we would need for this skit. This included:

  • Yes
  • No
  • Water
  • Help
  • Thank you
  • Excuse me
  • “I’m hearing. She’s Deaf.”

We had rehearsed this skit about twice–mainly due to schedule conflicts because someone was always in a class when the others had time to rehearse–and as a result probably didn’t go through it as much as we should have. However, I had…

View original post 732 more words

Leave a Comment

