Centering Disabled Characters in My Erotica

Kink Praxis

This post has been written for Blogging Against Disablism Day 2016.

In 2012, I started a new phase of writing. I decided to deliberately center disabled and sick characters in my erotic writing. This project began with the initial writing of my Tam Lin retelling, “The Tale of Jan & Tam,” in which I imagine both Tam Lin and Janet as disabled genderqueers who meet at Carter Hall, a public dungeon committed to accessibility. (You can find an excerpt here alongside a post of mine where I give advice about writing disabled characters in erotic fiction.)

This project was an integration of my own transformation with regard to my own disabilities. I had been moving in a new direction around my own experience of disability and illness, and my writing was catching up with me, so to speak. These processes of embracing disability, in my life and in my…

View original post 1,284 more words

Leave a Comment

